Yearly Maintenance on AFG

Old 11-06-09, 08:04 AM
I
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yearly Maintenance on AFG

Hi Folks...been lurking here for years, but just now registered. I've learned a lot already, and thank everyone for their great sharing of knowledge.

I have a SlantFin Boiler with an Beckett AFG oil burner. Pretty standard tankless setup with remove 70 gal HW tank and 3 heat zones with separate pumps and a HW-priority-based zone controller.

I've been doing my own yearly maintenance for a couple years now, and I wanted to run my procedure by the team here and see if anyone has any additional advice.

I have an old-school Bacharach test kit for testing/adjustment. Got on Ebay for $120 (needed CO2 tester rebuild kit), which paid for itself first use I figure.

Here's what I usually do:

Before starting, check flue temp, overfire draft, smoke, and CO2...record for before/after comparison.

1) Change oil filter and clean filter housing (usually quite clean but I wipe it anyway)

2) Check fuel pressure with a regular pressure gauge, set to 100psi, +/-5 (only needed adjustment once).

3) Pull nozzle assembly and clean. (replaced nozzle last year to factory spec).

4) Clean and reset electrodes (also replaced last year, kinda rounded)

5) Haven't touched CAD cell, but will clean this year (had a recent random lockout, but reset it and burner seems fine by all measures). Will get a replacement to keep on hand...burner is going on 15 years old.

6) Clean and vacuum heat exchanger with factory brush. Used Soot Saber on first cleaning, but haven't needed it since.

7) Remove and inspect/clean/vacuum flue. Usually pretty clean. Has 6" Metalbestos chimney to roof (see question below).

8) Clean and vacuum firebox. Usually pretty clean. I get some red crud in the bottom which I assume is fuel related.

9) Button everything up, and test fire

10) Check/Set overfire draft to spec (usually fine)