Triangle Tube or Burnham Alpine?

Old 10-02-10, 08:17 AM
G
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Triangle Tube or Burnham Alpine?

I work in the commercial HVAC industry. We perform mechanical HVAC service and installations, but for large commercial buildings (hospitals/large office buildings, etc). We don't get involved in the small stuff. Well, now I'm looking for a new boiler for a house I recently bought and have no history on. The system in this house resembles a commercial system and I have removed an 80% cast iron boiler (95K IBR) due to a broken cast iron section. I could fix it but now seems like a perfect time to repl.

There is radiant in-floor heat throughout the house which I assume is the first stage of heat, then a 5 ton fan coil unit with hot water reheat (and A/C), then 40G indirect domestic HW tank. An Erie Boiler Boss simple DDC boiler controller controlled the boiler previously and an Erie Zonetrak controller managed the individual zones and pumps. One large room has a glass curtain wall (low-e commercial glass) some 30 feet across and 18 feet tall! Great view, but will be the main energy hog in this house. The rest may not be too bad as it contains spray foam insulation. There is a main circulator pump in a primary/secondary arangement, and a pump for the slab radiant, another for the DHW and one for the AHU reheat coil. It's a pretty neat little system. I have narrowed my search down to the Triangle Tube (110 or 175) or the Burnham Alpine (105 or 150) pending heat load calcs this weekend. These are both high efficiency condensing hot water boilers. They use different types of heat exchanger technologies. I can buy both locally from suppliers I typically work with (at a decent price). I will install myself.